I am often wary of celebrity editions of shows. Some work beautifully, for example, the Comic Relief/Sport Relief editions of Bake Off and the occasional episodes of Gogglebox. And then there is, of course, Celebrity Come Dine With Me¸ the best one of which featured Michael Barrymore being locked out by the host for messing with her veg and rattling a bush against the window to be let back in again, and also stealing a fur coat which he gave to the host of the following night’s dinner. I laughed so hard at times I nearly had an asthma attack.

Others, whilst working, seem pointless. I have never understood Celebrity Masterchef for instance. There is no drama in the celebrity going home, because it is not their dream to become a chef. There is much more at stake in the normal version.

So what about Celebrity First Dates? Well, I suppose it all depends on how much you believe the celebs in question are genuinely looking for love and also how much of a normal person they really are.

To their credit, all four featured in the first episode seemed very normal. I could picture all of them on the regular version of the show. I found Jess Wright sweet and her heartbreak seemed like it could have happened to anyone, except hers took place on TV and had over a million Twitter followers to condole her. Richard Blackwood was endearing with his tale of how he came back from the edge, although he scuppered himself significantly by forgetting his date’s name. Will Bailey came across as any other lad on the show.

For me though, the real star was Esther Rantzen. As with others of her age who appear on the show, her heartbreak was losing a loved one she had been with so long and building a life without them. I genuinely warmed to her and seemed to be the one who most genuinely was seeking a companion. One quote in particular touched me: “I have plenty of people to do something with, but I have no one to do nothing with”. Because, as she so well explained, that is the secret behind a relationship that works, that you can just do nothing with that person.

It helped that her date was delightful. John had a wit and ability to spar with her that saw her eyes light up. He had charm and intelligence in abundance, even if he did put his foot in it at the end. Twice. Despite this, you could feel the sparks fly. They were interested in each other and both moved from light to serious deftly. I would love it if they were to continue to see each other.

Having said that, I still feel overall something was lacking form this version that the original had. Even though all the heartbreaks were real, I almost felt that, like with cooking, there was less at stake for some of them. That is not to say their low points were any less low, that they had suffered less pain. It’s just that their stories meant that little bit less. In theory, love is a great leveller. In reality, the famous perhaps get some better loaded dice.

