I must confess to not being a binge watcher. I think my brain is programmed in such a way to regard TV as a treat, something that is earned. Even on my days off, I have too much of a list of little things to do, as well as a social life that is enough to stop me being a hermit, to watch entire seasons of shows back to back. That doesn’t mean I can’t get some good TV watched – I can plough through a good 3 or 4 episodes of a decent American drama a week. Coupled with the fact that I still watch a lot of shows the episode the old-fashioned way of once a week, I never tear through seasons like so many others of my generation.

This is way I am only just starting season 5 of The Good Wife. Don’t get me wrong, I think I’ve made good progress, it’s just I know people who would zap through the 6 seasons on Netflix in the course of less than a month. Instead, I pootle along.

Having said that, there is something to be said for drip-feeding yourself good quality shows. Alicia’s rise to partner would seem frantically paced if taking place over a month; give yourself a good part of a year and you are able to drink in everything so much more. And it is a show worth drinking in.

For a start, it is smart, and getting smarter. It neatly and organically evolves from its ‘wronged-wife-goes-back-to-work’ premise to become a tale of political intrigue, office politics and, old chestnuts, love and friendship. I have adored seeing Cary Agos move from rival, to enemy, to good friend to Alicia Florrick, with no doubt more shape shifting to come. The chemistry between everyone almost literally crackles, a neat trick for a show that isn’t scared of layers.

My biggest love though, is for Eli Gold. Alan Cumming plays him so perfectly. Arrogant and with a malicious streak, Gold is also a surprising conduit for the show’s lighter moments. The scenes between Cumming and Margulies are amongst the most sublime you could see: unstoppable energy hitting an immovable object, whilst behind it all, a respect that has grown into a friendship.

See? Going through all these subtle shifts in power too quickly and you lose the beauty of what is being made. Binge watching is great if you intend to watch something disposable. However, if you want to really enjoy a show, slow the pace down. It is the respect some shows deserve.

