Normally, I am the kind of viewer who watches a TV show from the start right through to the very end. Hence why I find it a challenge to make space for new shows in my life. Even when things get bad, I rarely leave them (although I have finally called time on Mr Selfridge – Friday’s at 9pm were never going to be a good time for it). I have the kind of loyalty that makes me a TV scheduler’s dream. Getting me hooked in the first place is the bigger challenge.

Having said that, some programmes to come to me at opportune moments. Gogglebox is a prime example, as I joined it in the third season at it really began to hit its stride. Likewise, I have recently become enamoured with First Dates. I only caught it as there happened to be nothing else on, and so many people had prattled away about it (some of whom I believed to have good taste), I just had to give it a go.

I can’t lie, I enjoyed it. Having said that, it is hard to make a show that pries into people’s private lives not interesting. I would have been very surprised to have been bored by it. The Valentine’s special, in particular, was well put together and showed love in many different forms. Actually, this is what I love most about First Dates, the fact that it isn’t just mid-to-late 20’s professionals. The older generations get a look in, LGBT couples are well represented, and those that are outside of mainstream society get a fair bite as well.

Four out of the five couples featured all, to one degree or another, warmed your heart, and not just because they all agreed to meet again. Take Frank and Catherine: he, a shy, slightly eccentric guy who has been bruised by life, she, a bubbly force of nature, all external confidence whilst paddling like a swan underneath. She will teach him to fake confidence until he becomes confident, and he will be the better for it.

Of course, not every story has a happy ending. Spoilt princess Miki held herself in such high esteem that she spent most of the date putting her date, Arnie, down. Even his attempts to match her social standing fell flat: “my family used to be the royal family of Naples” he said, clearly hoping that would appeal to her new money senses. “Naples is awful” came the devastating reply. Maybe she thought she was auditioning to be the new villain on Made in Chelsea? Either way, Arnie, despite his annoying tics, deserves someone better than her.

Would I watch it again? Yes, but not every week. It is something that you dip into rather than pledge allegiance to. One thing it has done, and I know this will sound corny, is that it has actually given me faith in the virtues of love. All the successful couples walked away that little bit happier with life. Don’t we all deserve that? Well, maybe not Miki.

