There are some genres I naturally avoid. For example, I am averse to dark and moody crime dramas, where extreme violence is thing de jour. No doubt Luther and Happy Valley are excellent shows, but I would rather take the chocolate box murders of Midsomer any day. Likewise, I avoid those ‘medical’ documentaries of people with extreme conditions, largely because many blur the line between fascinating glimpse of an individual and freak-show.

I also tend to not watch horror, as I am not one of those people who buzzes off being scared. Yet I find myself enthralled by Scream Queens, a delicious confection that blends dark humour, mystery and bloodthirstiness. Part of the allure is that it is from the team behind Glee, a show I loved, albeit purely for the sharp, acerbic scripts as opposed to singing or celebration of diversity.

It is the transferral of that sharp writing to this new programme that is the big initial hook. The first episode spent a lot of time establishing the mysteries and getting the main cast into one place, so the script didn’t get to zing as much as it could, but the second one (the most recent shown in the UK) really flew. A favourite scene of mine was the pledge scene where the head of the sorority was trying to get the girls to drink ‘lemon soup’, really her finger bowl. Neckbrace, played by Lea Michelle, was a delight in this scene, and who knew Michelle could play comedy so well? Especially after her role in Glee had her as the emotional heft to the show, leaving the comedy to others.

I am also revelling in Jaime Lee Curtis’s role as Dean Munsch. The character is basically Sue Sylvester with fewer sociopathic tendencies and a higher sex drive, but with an equally devastating quip at hand. If the scenes at the sorority demonstrate the strength of the ensemble, Curtis brings the individual memorable character. Please, no spoilers if she dies, I want to face my potential grief with surprise.

Of course, none of this matters if there isn’t the required mystery or horror elements. The latter was slightly overdone to my taste in the first episode, although the climactic scene was a dark comedic delight. As for the former, things are bubbling away nicely. I had a strong hunch the Red Devil was the dad after the first episode, but the second episode knocked that after the too obvious reference to his love of 1995 power ballads (the year that we keep flashing back to).

So I came for the comedy, am staying for the mystery, and even slowly beginning to love the horror. It is pure nonsense, but acceptable nonsense. Sometimes, I think, that is all you want from a show.

