I’m going to begin this blog post with a confession: I am a massive Caitlin Moran fan-boy. I love her columns, her books and her twitter feed. I find her funny, erudite, and honest. I often wonder how many of her fellow columnists really understand working-class/benefits culture in this country. Moran has lived it in a way they often haven’t. Criticisms of her sting me, no matter how well-founded.

So it was natural that I would leap upon her sitcom Raised by Wolves, co-written with her sister Caroline. It is semi-autobiographical, focusing on two teenage sisters growing up in Wolverhampton under the gaze of a single mum and four younger siblings. A lot of sitcoms have done adolescence through the eyes of boys, but this time it is the turn of the girls to tell the story.

Unsurprisingly, I loved it. However, I would like to think I would have loved it even if I wasn’t already au fait with the Moran’s. More than anything, this is because the characters are brilliantly drawn. The contrast between Germaine (a reimagined Caitlin), who is all fantasies and bubbling hormones, and the introverted yet practical Aretha (Caroline) is well-played. There was a fantastic piece of whip-smart dialogue between the two sisters after they came across a randy horse, with Germaine imagining ‘If I had sex with a horse, I would have a baby centaur.’, before Aretha punctured the daydream with the brutal truth: ‘If you had sex with a horse, you would have a criminal record and a damaged reproductive system’. Helen Monks and Alex Davis play their roles perfectly, even if Germaine is slightly harder to sympathise with. Or maybe, like Aretha, I have spent a lot of time cleaning up other people’s impulsive messes too.

The scene stealer though is Rebekah Stanton as the fearsome but loving matriarch of the family. Too often mums are meant to be there only to keep the rest of the family on track, eye-rolling their way through family misfortunes. Not in this show. Della is both protective of her family without being a drudge. It is hard to choose between her approach to bullies and her forthright advice on dealing with periods as to what was her crowning glory in the first episode, but if she is based on the Moran’s real mum you can see how she managed to create two independent-minded but good-hearted daughters.

In short, you will be getting no apologies from me for praising Raised by Wolves. Fan-boy or not, it really is every bit as smartly observed as you would expect it to be and more. I think it is fair to say that Moran’s fan base will grow even more now.

